Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

What I was doing lately…

Well, here is one of the things I was doing lately… Mind you, it’s just a still-to-be-perfected prototype…

joyeuses fetes 2

But since it’s Christmas (or Holidays) related and since I was absent a while, I thought maybe it will be appropiate…Maybe even good enough to enter as a CCCC? Nothing to be compared with Miki’s post, of course…and I still drink coffee…plus cocoa… danu

December 2, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, CCCCompetition, Christmas, coffee, Danu's Paintings, events, family, friends, life, personal, religion, writing

14 Comments »

  1. Participation is fun don’t you think? A wonderful post and glad to see it here.

    Comment by Michael | December 2, 2007

  2. Danu, a worthy CCCC entry! Really festive, I like this a lot. It seems to explode with stars, and I think I can feel the spirit of Van Gogh in there.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 2, 2007

  3. One cannot help to love one´s prodigal son when he returns…
    Thank you, Danu, and 1 Christmas point, even if you hate it!

    Comment by Miki | December 2, 2007

  4. And I love that painting!

    Comment by Miki | December 2, 2007

  5. Thanks, Michael, Kev and Miki… I don’t hate Christmas as such, miki! I hate only the lonely, bare now and very modest Christmas without the children… 25,24, 19… they don’t care much for the kiddy stuff… And we are in the Purgatory…no grandchildren yet, no children, really anymore… But that’s life, isn’t it? And we have to do the best we can with it…and Kev, I wish…

    Comment by iondanu | December 2, 2007

  6. Danu, I always feel the separation from my kids at Christmas (22,15) They live in the UK. Since my divorce, my Christmasses were quiet affairs, with the exception of three years ago, when my son joined me in the Caribbean where I was working. We had a whale of a time, with all my showbiz mates, and they really made him feel welcome. This year, Miki and I have got back in touch with the child inside each of us, and spent part of today trimming a tree for the gallery and putting up lights, etc. We really feel like celebrating it this year, and you know, its due in no small measure to the “spirit of the season” manifesting itself here in Cafe crem with our new friends.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 2, 2007

  7. What a brightful painting! I like it!!
    Great post!

    Comment by Mary | December 2, 2007

  8. Oh! This is gorgeous, Danu! Wow!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 3, 2007

  9. Who’s comparing your picture to anyone Danu, not me. And I love it! It’s happy and light-filled.

    And your comments help me to be grateful for the last few years of I have of Christmases with the family together. My boys are 15 and 17 and the 17 year old kept reminding us at Thanksgiving that he may not make it home for Thanksgiving next year if he goes to a school too far away.

    So when the inevitable stresses of the holidays descent, I will add these grateful thoughts to the others – including Cafe Crem.

    I just had a thought! Maybe we should pick a time around Christmas when we could all raise a cup of (preferably hot chocolate) in a toast and then post the picture later, or some version of that. What do you think?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | December 3, 2007

  10. Had to come back Danu because this painting really got to me and then reading the posts I realized why. It is related to a line in one of my books and that is why it spoke to me deep inside.
    Thanks Mate,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 3, 2007

  11. Susan, a toast is a great idea (plus it means I get an extra cup of hot chocolate!) I think we’ll post an entry to that effect to co-ordinate everyone to do it.

    Comment by kevmoore | December 3, 2007

  12. Thanks, Mary and Shelley and Michael! Glad you liked my little postcard… And Kev and Miki I hope you’ll keep in touch with the child inside and you’ll have (in fact, I hope we all will have) a great Christmas!

    And Susan, do take advantage of every single moment you can get with your sons (mine have almost the same age difference) because soon enough life will monopolize their attention. And even if they are – as I’m sure they are – good, loving sons, for a while they’ll have “autre chats à fouetter”…

    And Yes, it just crossed my mind that maybe CCC is (and could be) a replacement for our estranged (?) kids (I mean, for the not so young folks like me …)

    Comment by iondanu | December 3, 2007

  13. I think, Danu, that it is the child inside who keeps in touch with us, and not the contrary! And believe me, these two children have a hell of a fun together since they met, and they live by the motto:
    “Plus on est de fous, plus on rit!”
    I have no doubt that the child inside of you would enjoy to join… let him free, he won´t hurt you, for sure, and he won´t go and whip other cats!

    Comment by Miki | December 3, 2007

  14. Nike says just do it but that is not the real essence of living.
    Just be Danu and you’ll be fine. Trust me!!!
    Merry Christmas,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 3, 2007


Leave a Reply

