Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The True Spirit of Christmas

Norway Christmas Tree for England

This is probably the most famous Christmas tree in the world. It is presented each year by the City of Oslo to the City of London (This year being the 61st) and stands proudly in Trafalgar square. It was first donated in 1947, in recognition of the special friendship between the two countries. King Haakon led his goverment in exile in London, whilst the BBC broadcast news in Norwegian to the occupied country, sending vital coded messages to help the resistance effort. The Norwegians never forgot this, and this special gift has become an intrinsic part of Christmas for Londoners. It is lit in a special ceremony on the first Thursday of December. I like to think our Coffee Cup Club embodies the same spirit, reaching out across the oceans in friendship. And don’t you think the reflection in the water looks like a golden caramel latte?? Merry Christmas!

Kev Moore

November 27, 2007 - Posted by | Art, CCCCompetition, Christmas, coffee, culture, events, family, friends, life, love, writing | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Oh I love this photo, as well as the story that goes with it! I also love how you’ve strategically placed the coffee cup in the reflection 🙂 I so want to join in the coffee cup images theme.Would you mind telling me what sort of software you used for this? Maggie

    Comment by psychscribe | November 27, 2007

  2. One of my culinary dreams consists in eating a real English pudding. Thanks to you, Kevin, I decide to specify my wish: I dream of taste the typical english cake under this Trafalgar square Christmas tree!

    Comment by contessine | November 27, 2007

  3. Hi Maggie, Well, I’m the cook in the kitchen, but Miki’s the Photo cook of the house, I guess you need to ask her!
    Regarding Contessine’s comment, and your recent post, I’ve just witnessed an incredible coincidence!
    Everybody, read Maggies blog (click on her author name) to see what I mean.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 27, 2007

  4. Thank you, Kevin 🙂 But honestly, you and all the other artists on here – do you know of any easy to use image software? Thank you!

    Comment by psychscribe | November 27, 2007

  5. I use Microsoft Office Picture Manager, if you look at some of the reworked photos on my Muse blog, Ashes in the Wind for instance, I did those with that. To be honest I just press some buttons and see what happens! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | November 27, 2007

  6. This is a great creative push for all of us Kev. Amazing and inspiring and sets the mood beyond our own imaginations.

    Comment by Michael | November 27, 2007

  7. Oh yes, what a fantastic entry, Kevin! I can´t give you 1 point for that, but I´ll give you something you love… have a look by the CCCC Scores! But don´t touch! Not before the competition is finished…

    Comment by Miki | November 27, 2007

  8. This looks like it was done by a photoshop wizard, not a guy who just pokes around pressing some buttons on his computer! Truly gorgeous, and an inspiring story.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 28, 2007

  9. Right, Susan, but you missed the beginning of the discussion… as Kevin said, I am “The Photo cook of the house!” for the most complicated recipes…
    In this case here no magic included though: the incredible original photo of the Christmas tree looks exactly like here (except the stars), I just added the cup with copy and paste!

    Comment by Miki | November 28, 2007

  10. Cool image!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 29, 2007


Leave a Reply

