Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

CCCC: The Christmas Café Crem Competition

The Christmas Coffee Cups Competition

I´ve got a new idea!

“Oh dear”, you might think, “Miki is on a roll again!”

Yes, I am, the simple truth being that I can´t live without new ideas…

So here it is:

I am here announcing officially the Christmas Cafe Crem Competition. The rules are quite simple:

0. Everybody can participate. The ones who are not authors yet just have to contact me, and I will do the necessary to allow you to make entries.

1. You must make entries around Christmas cups. Like always it can be drawings, paintings, photos, music, poetry, texts, videos, etc. No limits are set: use your brain and show us something funny, original, crazy, whatever you want.

2. You can make as many entries as you like. You are allowed to put entries from members of your family, children, friends, under your name and YOU´ll get the points.. In other words: Relive those Victorian days of child exploitation! You will just have to share the prize with them, then… if you like.

3. Each entry must be categorised with “CCCCompetiton”, so that we can find them all again.

4. For each entry you get 1 point. At the end of the competition, Miki will take a big page of paper and cut it into many tiny pieces and put the names of the entries authors on the pieces, as many times for each author as she/he made entries. And then she draws. And Kevin films the draw to prove all is fair!

5. I will total up all the notes for each author, and the author who gets the most points will win. Don´t worry: I´ll do it right, my first profession is Mathematician.

6. The prize is a big box full of Christmas stuff, mostly comestibles, and of course a real Christmas Coffee Cup. I´ll send it personally to the winner by mail.

7. The deadline for the entries is the 24th of december. The prize will be sent in the first January week. Not because the Christmas stuff is cheaper to get, but because the mail in Spain around Christmas and New Year is simply a catastrophe.

8. Miki and Kev Moore reserve the right to post entries, and cast votes, and your comments on their entries are welcome, but points cannot be awarded to their entries as they are exempt from the competiton itself. Kevin is anyway on a diet, and winning a boxful of chocolates would be a disaster. (((whispers…Bill, if you agree to share the prize, Ill do an American election style recount! 😉 )))

9. Actual scores can be seen in the “CCCC Scores” Page.

That´s all. So hurry up please, the more entries you make, the better chance you have to win!

Good luck, and Merry Christmas!
PS: Kevin assures everybody, that no reindeer were harmed in the creation of this competition.

MIKI, Spain (Albir)

November 23, 2007 - Posted by | Art, CCCCompetition, Christmas, culture, Entertainment, events, family, fun, humor, life, photography, writing | , , , , , , ,

17 Comments »

  1. I am not allowed to give points to Kevin, but I have to acknowledge the wonderful cartoon he made for this entry:
    10 kisses!

    Comment by Miki | November 23, 2007

  2. Ho! Ho! Ho!!! Merry Christmas!!! I love Christmas and I have lots of kids and they are my inspiration.
    This will be fun Miki.
    Great idea.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 23, 2007

  3. So happy that you love the idea, Michael!
    And I promise: the prize will be big!

    Comment by Miki | November 23, 2007

  4. Did I hear something about chocolate? I’ll start pondering Christmas cups right away 🙂 Big thanks, Miki and Kev, for making Cafe Crem so much fun!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 23, 2007

  5. You heard right, Shelley, chocolate and chocolatte! Go up the yellow mountain to ponder Christmas cups, and take your kids with you, they´ll surely have wonderful ideas!
    Kevin is gigging again this week end, he is gone already and will come back on Sunday afternoon… I know he will miss Café Crem!

    Comment by Miki | November 23, 2007

  6. Hey Miki. I’m not in this for the prize although I like getting them. For me its the first time I have seen a collaborative team atmosphere and I have belonged to many sites and actually ran my own social networking site too.
    That’s the honest truth. As I say to everyone now its not about the technology. It’s about the people.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 23, 2007

  7. These are wonderful words Michael. What you say about Café Crem is for me more important than any compliment I hear about my own paintings (“although I like getting them”…)
    I guess at the end of the year we will all be obsessed with coffee cups, or we will hate them for ever, don´t you think so?!

    Comment by Miki | November 23, 2007

  8. Well at the end of the day it is all about coffee is it not and did you know that the number 2 consumable product in the world is coffee?, after petroleum.? Coffee is even recession proof. If 1929 were a reality today, where able men and woman were forced to stand in food lines and get food stamps in the USA, but the number one thing that was handed out in those lines was a “Cup of Coffee.” And that the first stock exchange was founded in the coffee houses of London England and enterprises were financed over cups of coffee and ideas written on scraps of paper and the infamous Moleskine notebooks. There is quite a history behind that wonderful drink and as such your topic theme if my hunch is right will become a site where who knows what will come out of creative collaboration and a highly creative community!!!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 23, 2007

  9. Great comment, Michael!

    Comment by Miki | November 23, 2007

  10. Thank you very much Miki. I appreciate it when people comment on comments. Don’t you? It’s the nicest courtesy one can pay to another is acknowledgment without expectation. Not preaching here to the group but perhaps setting up a certain quality of social interaction that really peppers up everyone, even the readers.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 24, 2007

  11. I totally agree with you. Who ever we are, we all need acknoledgment, especially from the people who are close to us. Personally I love to comment and ti get commets, and I wished everybody would love it too.
    But well, one cannot force anybody, it doesn´t work. The best being that everybody here, authors and readers, like it so much that they feel the inner need to be involved, somehow. And this can only be reached by presenting attractive entries and interacting around the coffee table , what we all try here,… the reason why I love Café Crem so much!

    Comment by Miki | November 24, 2007

  12. […] cccc:the christmas cafe crem competion+ At the Cafe Crem where I am an author we have the Christmas Cafe Crem Competition. […]

    Pingback by cccc:the christmas cafe crem competion+ « Philosophis+ | November 24, 2007

  13. Just borrowed your picture for the cccc post on philosophis and gave it a copyright notice as well. A picture attracts the reader immediately.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 24, 2007

  14. By posting the cccc on my blog I have had four views so far. If everyone did this in the group then there would be more. We have to find a way to email everyone at once so I suggest we use the program Pownce at http://pownce.com/ Then when you want everyone to have an update to the site or input ideas and share things before they are posted you have Pownsce I use it for other things and set my settings to private and only those who I have invited can see it. You can send files, share links, send instant messages and more. Very very good to manage communication within a group.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 24, 2007

  15. Hi All!! Miki!!! What a great idea!!
    I don’t paint.. but I can write something for you guys..

    This club is just great!!

    Comment by Mary | November 26, 2007

  16. Did you say the magic word, Miki?? I will do just about anything for chocolate! Okay, I’ll put my Santa Hat on and think Christmassy Posts. This is going to be great!

    Comment by Bonny | November 27, 2007

  17. Nice to see you here, Bonny! And strange to think that you were not so far away from me, just some days ago! I read about you meeting with your blog friend, what a touching story. One day the same will happen with Susan and me, somewhere in Spain, or in France, or in the USA, and it will just be a magic moment, I know that!

    Comment by Miki | November 27, 2007


Leave a Reply

