Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Ponder me this, ponder me that…

There are no cafes at the top of Yellow Mountain. My thermos of coffee didn’t last very long. At the end of a chilly evening, I smeared the last coffee dribbles over some red crayon doodles, stuffed the painting into my thermos, and rolled it down the mountain. Surely someone would hear my plea for more coffee.

It was a cold dark night, alone at the top of Yellow Mountain. No answers, only more questions. The pondering was endless.

Imagine my delight when the morning sun greeted me, along with my daughter’s smile. She had painted “Two ladders in one group”-a lovingly artistic rescue. She held my hand and told me it was time to come down.

Now if only I could get her to make me some more coffee…

November 21, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, family, humor, life, love, painting, Shelley's Creations, writing

5 Comments »

  1. coffee is a lifeline 🙂 I love the paintings

    Comment by Lina | November 21, 2007

  2. Ah! The E.C.R.K. – Something no pondering mountaineer should be without – The Emergency Child Rescue Kit!!
    Very nice Shelley! and also to Nicole too, what a lovely painting!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 21, 2007

  3. I would always wonder how do children (and children like person) can be so “zen” without any study of bouddhism and such?

    Comment by iondanu | November 21, 2007

  4. Hi Nicole. nice to see your painting here! I am happy to have such a young author here, we are all sooooooooo old!
    Shelley, I thought you wouldn´t never come down again… very nice entry!

    Comment by Miki | November 21, 2007

  5. I love the image of rolling the sketch down the hill in a thermos. I think I’ll try that some time when I need help. In fact I’ve got a painting here I can’t figure out how to finish. Maybe I should roll it up in a thermos or coffe can and roll it down the hill and hope a child on the other end will rescue it.

    Comment by Susan | November 22, 2007


Leave a Reply

