Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Thanks for our fowl folk

cafecremchick.jpg

It’s that time of year again that strikes terror in the hearts of all fowl here in the U.S. Which explains why Gladys has chosen to keep her eyes (and other parts) on me. I tried to explain that she is too dear for me to sacrifise, so she has no worries. Her eggs only will be a part of our wonderful meal on Thursday. (And I assure you that other vessels will be used for our coffee serving!) Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

November 20, 2007 - Posted by | Art, coffee, drawing, events, family, food, fun, humor

6 Comments »

  1. Okay Susan…following my recommendation to watch “Chicken Run” I now have an aural delight for you: From the album “Friendliness” by the UK band Stackridge, you simply have to seek out the track “Keep on Clucking”

    The opening lines are:

    “Way down on Sam McGurkeys Spread,
    Things are happening in his brand new shed
    He sold his wife and kids and bought a thousand chickens instead….”

    great entry Susan, Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 20, 2007

  2. This is a beauty. I don’t know if I like the chicken or the cup best. Teach that chicken to sit and drop an egg directly into a pan.

    Comment by wrjones | November 20, 2007

  3. Into a pan, rather than a cup you mean? I’ll try!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 21, 2007

  4. Ther is a certain quality in watercolors… Smelling the coffee or the chicken? I can still smell the chickens of my childhood. The ones that were brown and I could not figure ou how they got so red and big and ugly from a yellow beautiful chicken. And I could not touch them when they were big.

    Comment by Yolanda | November 21, 2007

  5. Reminds me of my childhood. All these stories. Thanksgiving. This really nice painting.
    Yeah Mom was and still is a great cook. Loves her coffee too.
    Thanks for this Susan.
    And everyone did you know that Susan is featured on my blog. Go there and comment please not for me but for Susan.
    As well the first person I featured was Miki and that’s how I ended up here. Serendipity!!!
    Here’s the kinks, but please know that my blog is not about hits and all that. Its about growing and learning and sharing ideas centered around the essential question in, about Philosophis+, “I seek to explore one question, What can I do to develop my creative courage?”
    Miki @ http://philosophis.wordpress.com/2007/11/09/introducing-i-am-miki%e2%80%a6/
    Susan @ http://philosophis.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/introducing-susan-cornelis/

    Thanks everyone in advance.
    Warm Regards/~~michael

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 21, 2007

  6. Welcome to Cafe Crem, Gladys! What a nice surprise to see you here! You contribute a lot to the feminine charms here, I don´t believe we´ve had redhaired females until now!
    I am not surprised that Bill has a special wish… 2 days ago, after I served him his own special coffee, he said to me:
    “I know this is pushing it and I am a high maintenance man, but could you make me some peanut butter and toast to take with my coffee?”

    Comment by Miki | November 21, 2007


Leave a Reply

