Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A Study in Coffee: Did you ever drink your paint?

Feeling inspired by Miki’s recent posts here in the Coffee Cup Club, I sat down last night to paint some perky, colorful cups. Alas, I was not feeling perky, or colorful. So I stared at some blank paper for a while. When I finally realized I was getting nowhere, I flipped though my sketchbook and found this old cup study I did on a night my brush was not cooperating. Maybe I could revive it with new paint?

I started the background in regular watercolor. Realizing the color was coffee-ish, I thought, “Hey! Wasn’t there a post where someone mentioned painting with coffee?” So I got some instant coffee out of the cabinet (used for baking purposes only), and watered some down in a shot glass. It smelled pretty good! I had to remind myself not to drink it, as I painted these cups a lovely mocha brown.

My mood was definitely improving at this point, so I added some perky red inside the cups. Do you think it looks like cranberry juice?

November 16, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, friends, humor, painting, Shelley's Creations

7 Comments »

  1. I like the sixth one.

    Comment by sueorkin | November 16, 2007

  2. I think being in essence is flow and being in flow is so being true to yourself. I am glad you had so much fun Shelley. I am glad too seeing this.

    Comment by michael pokocky | November 16, 2007

  3. I think the second cup is having evil thoughts…

    Comment by kevmoore | November 16, 2007

  4. I think everybody in Cafe Crem should take one of the cups and say something to it!
    Michael took them all, but this is not allowed. He should retake.
    Number 6 and 2 are gone.
    I take number 1. I don´t drink the red juice, but I lick the cup: I love instant coffee!

    Comment by Miki | November 16, 2007

  5. Fresh watercoffeecolor! I think we (the visual artists of the ccc) should experiment more with coffee… In fact, my prefered color for drawing – burnt umber – looks very much alike to your instant coffee color…

    Just like miki, I like instant coffee (French Vanilla and Irish Cream especially) but I don,t buy them too often. My usual brand is Melitta fine ground – non instant…

    Comment by iondanu | November 16, 2007

  6. I bet your painting smells good too! I did a coffee shop sketch with coffee on the page (easier because I had my cup of strong Seattle coffee there) last summer. Problem was, I had put the creme in with it, and somehow that caused the paper surface to resist further watercolor applications. Tea works too but of course that’s not legal on Cafe Crem!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 16, 2007

  7. Oh Miki I confess I am an old scoundrel but there is so much movement going on and the energy of the day is high. Yes I will take one cup and then give it away to another. To possess it is to claim permanence don’t you see. I am taking the middle one and giving it away to the next outsider who drops by to visit.

    Comment by michael pokocky | November 17, 2007


Leave a Reply

