Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

What In The World Is That Brown Liquid?

By W.R. Jones

chocolateandcranberries.jpg

I saw this cup in a pottery store in Ojai, California while on my way to paint at a nearby lake. My first thought was to wonder if Miki would like this piece. Anyway, I do.

It might be illegal to display hot chocolate on this blog, but I’ve always been a wild outlaw type of guy so I’ll deal with the consequences as they come up.

I picked chocolate to go with the light brown colors on the mug. I found out that you don’t want to put marshmallows in hot chocolate if you plan on painting them; they dissappear in a hurry. The flip side of this problem is that when the chocolate cools the marshmallows sit on top rather than sink halfway. You have to push them down.

Those little red balls are cranberries in anticipation of Thanksgiving – American holiday where we eat too much then lie on the sofa watching American football, groan, and grow ever fatter.

I found my “tablecloth” at Wal-Mart for $0.50. I’m such a shopper!

November 13, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, culture, food, life, painting, personal, WR Jones' Paintings, writing

16 Comments »

  1. Yum! Chocolate works for me! 🙂 (sometimes I put cocoa in my coffee).

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 13, 2007

  2. Oh yes, Bill, Miki likes this piece very much! Do I live on the wrong continent? We don´t seem to have here such cups like this, and Susan´s ones…
    Hot chocolate is allowed, and even wanted: I just adore it!
    I will tell you something. Until last spring this year, I had no idea what marshmallows were. I had heard this word in films, or read it in books, but couldn´t figure anything behind. I just found the word funny and evocative, somehow… In Spring I went with Kevin to a wonderful small cafe in Matlock -UK, Derbysher, where Kev´s family comes from- and he invited me to a hot choco with…. marshmallows! I was first very sceptical as he put that stuff in my hot choco, and to see them floating up there was a strange feeling. But as soon as I had one in my mouth… Oh God! What a devilish pleasure!
    I was very happy to see these things again, in your cup in Café Crem!
    And a last -but not least thing: I don´t like only the cup, I love the painting too! Wonderful contrast in the shapes and colours composition…

    Comment by Miki | November 13, 2007

  3. I prefer my chocolate in solid form. I try to stick with the dark so I can pretend I’m doing it for my heart health. I probably don’t need that 8oz a day amount however.

    Miki – In the cup were the small marshmallows. You can buy larger versions. When I was young every autumn we would rake leaves in to a pile and burn them. Over the fire we would roast marshmallows on sticks. I liked to let mine catch fire and burn the outside black. Then I blew out the flame and ate the marshmallow.

    Comment by wrjones | November 13, 2007

  4. Bill, I’m salivating for marshmallows now….
    P.S. I saw the clever way you tried to hide the cranberries by cropping your picture….but Miki is unstoppable, especially if she’s hungry, she found them! A really nice study Bill. By the way, my groaning and fattening on the sofa is usually around Christmas. Tradition dictates that I consume an entire half-pound of hazelnut chocolate whirls, and, supplies permitting, an entire Terry’s chocolate orange, prior to tucking into the Turkey. The afternoon then is mainly spent in regret whilst watching The Queens Speech.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 13, 2007

  5. The painting is quite lovely and gives the feel of natural ceramics which I love.

    While we’re telling Miki about marshmallows – we have to tell her about S’Mores, which is what you eat after you’ve burned your marshmallow over the camp fire, and then you immediately make a sandwich of it with a flat Hersey’s candy bar (which melts as it hits the hot marshmallow) and two squares of graham cracker. This taste treat, however, is only yummy when you’re being silly like when you were 10 around a campfire with other sillies after a day of being outside and working up a ferocious appetite. Then it is quite the most unbelievably scrumptia-delumpcious concoction you’ll swear you’ve ever had.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 13, 2007

  6. Give me S’mores! I have a mental age of 10! I can get a note from my Doctor!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 13, 2007

  7. Damn, that sounds good. I never had those. I must have come from a poor family we only had the marshmallows.

    Comment by wrjones | November 13, 2007

  8. You think you were poor? When I was a lad, we lived in a hole in the road and lived on a bag of hot gravel. My father would come home at night, thrash us until we were dead, then Ma would jump up and down on our graves singing “Hallelujah!”

    Comment by kevmoore | November 13, 2007

  9. That reminds me of the Woody Allen film where he remarked that they were so poor they had one hot meal a day … a bowl of steam.

    The Queens Speech? Do you stay awake?

    Comment by wrjones | November 13, 2007

  10. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ…wha? I’m sorry I meant Freddie Mercury!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 13, 2007

  11. Pretty cup and pretty combination of colors, so earthy and homey I would love to drink hot chocolate out of it right now !!!!!

    Comment by Yolanda | November 14, 2007

  12. You won´t believe it, Bill, but I keep coming back to look at your cup and dream of hot chocolate with marshmallows!

    Comment by Miki | November 14, 2007

  13. I keep coming back because I want shopping tips from Bill…I would spend hours trawling the Wal-Mart CD sections when I was touring the states; there’s nothing like the buzz of getting a bargain!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 17, 2007

  14. kevmoore – where can I find hazelnut chocolate whirls?? I’m from Canada and we can’t find them here. I’m willing to have them shipped from anywhere! They are an old family favorite and bring back many wonderful memories.

    Comment by lizzy | November 25, 2007

  15. Hi Lizzy!
    Kev Moore is right now in England gigging, but as soon as he comes back (we live in Spain) he will answer your question… I hope he will be able to tell you where to get the hazelnut chocolate whirls, I have myself no idea what it is, but it sounds really delicious! It would be great if you could introduce them again in the family!

    Comment by Miki | November 25, 2007

  16. Lizzy, your family are obviously people of impeccable taste! I have family in England, perhaps I can propose that I ask them to send you some? Let me know how much you want and how much you want to spend. You can send me your snail mail address in a comment to The Muse on the Rock I won’t publish the comment. I’ll find out the postal costs, etc. Before we continue, however, I need to be clear which ones you mean. There are two types (both equally yummy!!) There are the conical chocolate hazelnut whirls, normally filled with a creamy mallow and topped with the hazelnut, or the smaller Cadbury ones, which are hazelnuts covered in whirled chocolate. Make your choice!! (or eat both, I usually do…)

    Comment by kevmoore | November 25, 2007


Leave a Reply

