Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Warm Friend

It has occurred to me, since joining the Coffee Cup Club, that the coffee cups my hand likes to draw don’t look like the coffee cups I drink out of. In fact, they look more like teacups! When did this happen!? I will have to put some serious thought to this. In the meantime, here is my very first coffee cup drawing, inspired by my very first favorite coffee cup.

November 9, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, friends, fun, humor, life, love, poetry, Shelley's Creations, writing

7 Comments »

  1. “Shapes of things before my eyes” sang the Yardbirds.

    What shape should a coffee cup really be? I guess the one you’ve posted is the currently accepted style, but I well remember the other shape you posted as a child, albeit made out of see-through Pyrex!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 9, 2007

  2. That hadn’t occurred to me, how much styles really do change. Thank you, Kev! This cheers me up today 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 9, 2007

  3. In fact, Shelley, this is exactly the reason why I drink so many milk coffees a day. It is not so much the taste of the coffee that I love, it is much more the feeling of inner and outer warmth…
    And if you need to be cheered up again, just come here, and we´ll have a coffee together!

    Comment by Miki | November 9, 2007

  4. your painting looking great do you have any more of this kind of paitings if so please exhibit the same

    Comment by stemiller | November 9, 2007

  5. It is getting colder and colder in SoCal. That means more cups of coffee a day!!! This design looks like a standard paper coffee cup, am I right? There is an idea, a collection of paper cups! Historical and collectable in the future . After all, Starbucks is not going to be around forever! I wonder what the next coffee store name will be …

    Comment by Yolanda | November 9, 2007

  6. I never saw a paper coffee cup with a handle… does it exist really? if yes, in which material is the handle done?

    Comment by Miki | November 9, 2007

  7. Thank you, Miki! And this was drawn from my ceramic cup, Yolanda. There are paper cups with paper handles, though. If I see one again, I’ll get a picture of it.

    And thank you, stemiller. My drawing style has changed a little bit since this one, but I will be posting more coffee cups for sure 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 9, 2007


Leave a Reply

