Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

I’m a thief! God’s wrath!

Stolen cup

Maybe, apart from CCC, we should create a new club: The Coffeee Cup Thiefs Club! Because, folks, I’m a thief myself now and joined the (bad?) example of Kevin… You can see that the object of my mischief was a dark blue with gold coffee cup, with a large handle, very comfortable to hold… I saw it last Saturday laying alone and sad on a shelf of the backroom where we have our Dessin d’après modèle vivant sessions, at the University… It was so beutiful and so sad (and lonely – probably somebody forgot it, even if I’m not sure how she or he could do that...) that I couldn’t resist, old maggpie that I am… Probably I wouldn’t if it wasn’t for the recent example of Kevin, getting some more adrenaline fix in some Starbuck. But his example just pushed the balance the way of the wrongdoing… and I thought I will get away with it!

No, nobody saw me and no, I wasn’t dishonered for life and put into irons and such… But God’s wrath manifested itself no less…

I was happily preparing myself a Vienese coffee (2 teaspoonfull of fine grinded coffee + 1 teaspoon of fine grinded coacoa) and just pouring the hot water in my Zepter ibric (I don’t know the term in English: the thing in which you prepare your coffee…) when God intervened and look what I did to my pijamas! (looks like an abstract painting but it did hurt a bit being hot-hot!)

So now I’m in a kind of a dilema: should we make the coffee club thief club? Or should we confess our sins and get back the beautiful object of our desires?

vienese coffee

ION VINCENT DANU, Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada

November 5, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, Danu's Paintings, food, friends, life, painting, personal, photo, religion, writing | , , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. Has anyone tried painting with coffee?? i have seen soem good things…

    Comment by Yolanda | November 5, 2007

  2. YEs, I know some friends doing that with instant coffee especially (more color power)… I did not try it myself but it should be interesting… one of those days…

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 5, 2007

  3. Yolanda, check out Val Webbs entry here in the CCC…

    Comment by kevmoore | November 5, 2007

  4. Your Pyjamas look totalled, Danu – Are you sure you weren’t preparing Napalm?
    Regarding our dilemma (I speak as a fellow thief) I think we should confess our sins, but keep the cups so we can drink a toast to our new integrity…

    Comment by kevmoore | November 5, 2007

  5. Yes, one of these days… it reminds me that I wanted to try myself after seeing Val Webbs painting…

    Comment by Miki | November 5, 2007

  6. Wow! Kev, soloman wouldn’t do it better! See that’s why I love catholicism (not the Inquisition and the pedophiles, although)… You confess your sin and you still can enjoy the fruits of your sins… I think in this respect, catholics have a better understanding of human nature than the severe and humorless calvinist (no offense to anyone calvinist…)

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 5, 2007

  7. Danu, would you satisfy my curiosity? I kind of need to know what is written on the cup.. everything! Looks so philosophical somehow…
    I love the phtos, great the contrast between the cup, the CDs and the painting behind. Dan Quixote avoiding his Dulcenea?
    Concerning the theft… I don´t take any responsability for the behaviour of “my” members, but I must confess that it fills me with a secrete sense of pride… such daring!

    Comment by Miki | November 5, 2007

  8. “La brülerie de café de Sherbrooke”
    “complice de votre journée”
    “180, Wellington Nord, Sherbrooke” 820-1223

    Not so philosophical, after all… But that’s a nice place for a coffee (or coffee cup) lover… They have all the sorts of coffee you can imagine, some cup to be bought and other coffee making instrument… Smell like in the coffee lover paradise (you know the smell of coffee bean being cooked?) and, en plus, they have Internet and wireless Internet connexion… You buy a coffee and can sit at some computer for hours. Always full with interesting people to draw…

    One of those days…sounds like a song title, eh? – I will take some photo and look more carefully at the exotic sort s of coffe… I can only look because it isn’t cheap…

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 5, 2007

  9. Haha, Danu! If you want to know my views on religion, listen to THE HERETIC´S SONG

    Comment by kevmoore | November 5, 2007

  10. Been there! done that!

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 5, 2007

  11. Danu, thanks for the answer. Perhaps not so philosophical, but still nice to see some French words in the CCClub, and even in gold letters…

    Comment by Miki | November 6, 2007

  12. I have this image in my mind of the cup owner just stepping out of the room when you swoop down with, “Oh look, someone left their cup here. I’ll just slip it into my backpack so if they every show up (in my kitchen) I can return it.”

    Comment by wrjones | November 6, 2007

  13. Yes, miki the gold and the French makes the dark blue look nice…

    and Bill, not quite so: first, that somebody left his/her cup for a week or so (I’ve seen it also the Saturday before this Saturday…then it just tempted me…) and I slip it into my artmaterialcarrying thing… I wouldn’t have the courage to do it like you said, with the owner in place… In fact, even if this lessen the heroism of the actiopn, I think at my deed more as a salvation of sorts: the owner abandonned poor little darling cup and I saved it. see?

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 6, 2007

  14. Bill, I think we’ve all become brainwashed by the “unattended bag” announcements in airports..it leads us to take for safe keeping anything remotely abandoned…why, only the other day I observed a large villa unoccupied for several minutes..I have now moved in and will be making alterations to the locks.
    Danu; You are a hero! Perhaps we should start a rest home for abandoned cups!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 6, 2007

  15. […] here to […]

    Pingback by 34pages » I’ma thief! God’s wrath! | November 6, 2007

  16. […] the color was coffee-ish, I thought, “Hey! Wasn’t there a post where someone mentioned painting with coffee?” So I got some instant coffee out of the cabinet (used for baking purposes only), and […]

    Pingback by A Study in Coffee: Did you ever drink your paint? « “Café Crem”: The Coffee Cup Club | November 16, 2007


Leave a Reply

