Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Latte

Latte Cup

I never buy myself nice coffee mugs because invariably the handles get broken off in the slapdash process of dishingwashing this household of teenage males favors. However. . .I was just in the hardware store and walked by a rack where this one caught my eye, and thinking of you, I just had to get it. “Latte: French for You Paid too much for this Coffee”

Please not that I spent all my money on the cup and had no more to buy the coffee so I put a 5 cent Red Rose tea bag in and was quite happy. I guess I’ll be washing my own cup out.

SUSAN CORNELIS

November 3, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, culture, drawing, family, food, friends, humor, life, love, news, painting, personal, photo, politics, Susan Cornelis' Paintings, writing | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. If you really can buy THAT mug in America, Susan, then I have to come NOW! Or is it a product of your so sweet and vivid imagination?
    What ever, real or not, I just fell in love again!!!
    And what a beautiful painting! Nobody should ever tell me again, that coffee cups are artistically uninteressant… I´m´very proud of you, even if you are a “bloody” tea drinker…

    Comment by Miki | November 3, 2007

  2. I simply like this painting, it makes me want the cup.

    Comment by wrjones | November 3, 2007

  3. Great watercolor (is it?) !!! I love the choice of colors

    Comment by Yolanda | November 4, 2007

  4. Love the cup Susan! Can you put me down for one as well? In fact…maybe we could get a bulk order…….

    Comment by kevmoore | November 4, 2007

  5. I’ll serve you coffee in it when you come to visit us!

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | November 5, 2007

  6. Can somebody explain me the slogan? ’cause I didn’t quite get it… Nice watercolor, susan, as always…

    Comment by iondanu | November 5, 2007

  7. Okay Danu, here goes… I understand your confusion, because of course Latte isnt French for anything, its Italian for milk. But the joke is that calling a simple milk coffee a Latte, adds about 2 dollars to the price, especially in Starbucks (right, Bill?) But as we know, the Americans are easily confused geographically when they venture abroad!! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | November 5, 2007

  8. Actually the geographical confusion doesn’t wait until abroad. I starts its insidious confusion somewhere near the end of the block where we live. I can’t find the next town over without my GPS.

    All these streets look alike, even in my new glasses.

    Comment by wrjones | November 7, 2007

  9. I’m wondering if a tea drinker should be allowed to post without some kind of taxation without representation.

    However, I’m thinking of posting a mug full (or maybe 1/3, 2/3, etc of hot chocolate so I should not cast stones at glass mugs.

    Comment by wrjones | November 7, 2007

  10. Mmm..Hot Chocolate, is that a kind of beverage “middle ground”? This reminds me of a useful tip; When stranded in some gawdawful train station waiting room, bus depot or similar, and there is a grungy old vending machine purporting to serve “delicious hot beverages” always play safe and go for the chocolate. Ive found its usually the only one that resembles the actual drink. Coffee from these mechanical behemoths is ill-advised, and the Tea could double as brake fluid.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 7, 2007


Leave a Reply

