Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Jenny-bei-cafei…

I don’t know if a coffee gene exists. So that you can inherit the liking of coffee (or coffee cups). But the name of my mother was the one I put in the title and which, in English, would sound like Jenny-who-drinks-coffee. It was my mother’s nickname. Still is, in fact, since she is 82 and counting, with a younger sister, the only survivors of a 13 children family… She was called that name (her sister still calls her like that) because it was common knowledge in the family that you needn’t to prepare very elaborate meals to please my mother (Eugenia, shortly Jenny): if you would give her a large cup of caffé au lait and some bread she would be quite happy… and they called her Jenny-who-drinks-coffee… Not a bad nickname, after all… Another time I will tell you her secret coffee making ritual… For now, here she is, in her prime, in a detail of the painting I gave her for her 80th anniversary… Ion Vincent Danu

My mother in her prime

ION VINCENT DANU, Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada

October 31, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, Danu's Paintings, drawing, family, food, life, love, painting, personal | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. A nice story, Danu! I have no difficulty in believing she didnt need elaborate meals…Miki would live all day on nice warm bread and cafe au lait!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 31, 2007

  2. that’s a beautiful painting and a lovely trinute to your mother

    Comment by nursemyra | October 31, 2007

  3. ooops I meant tribute of course

    Comment by nursemyra | October 31, 2007

  4. I also remember my mother liking coffee so much and having it with cafe con leche (coffee with milk). SO, yes, there must be a coffee gene 🙂 At 88 nnow she drinks full cups of very strong coffee, the Caribbean way even though she shouldn’t . But at 88 she thinks she better have some coffee pleasure in life .

    Comment by Yolanda | October 31, 2007

  5. i’m more of a tea person most people love coffee, great portrait.

    Comment by fyxer | November 1, 2007

  6. Tjanks, Kev! and nursemyra and Yolanda and fyxer!

    And I think my mother, and miki and Yolanda’s mother are very smart. There no other taste like that of the bread dipped ino a good cup of coffee & milk…

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 1, 2007

  7. I have my coffee with mucho mucho leche, Yolanda! Many of us here seem to have very old but still healthy mothers… it must be because they drink so much coffee! Although I must say that MY mother definitively prefers red wine! But of course not for breakfast…

    Comment by Miki | November 1, 2007

  8. Awful, Danu! French Baguette makes crumbs, and I love French Baguette, and I hate crumbs in my coffee!
    But I remember my grand-mother dipping her bread into her coffee and I couln´t see all these crumbs floating around…

    Comment by Miki | November 1, 2007

  9. The secret is, probably, to use not so fresh French baquette et just to dip it (not to let it stay too long in your coffee – just enough to absorb a bit of c.)

    Look at me, giving advice to the masters!!!

    Comment by Ion Danu | November 1, 2007


Leave a Reply

