Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Rug Mug

MIKI, Spain, (Albir)

Rug Mug

Yesterday morning I got a phone call from my Mother.
„Will you come tonight?“
I had promised to go two days before, but well, I was not in the best mood and didn´t want to confront my parents as a sad daughter.
„I´m not sure….“
I heard a lot of noises on the other end of the line. Then a voice shouting in the phone
„Allo, Miki, c´est Papa!“
My father is quite deaf, and thinks, like all deaf people, that he has to shout to be understood.
„You MUST come tonight!!
„Why?“
„We are sad… France lost yesterday against Argentina in the Rugby World Cup. Tonight is the final, England against South Africa… we are waiting for you, then. What do you want to eat?“
Without waiting for an answer, he gave the phone back to my Mother! Like always and again like all deaf people, he never waits for the answers to his questions, as anyway, being deaf, he couldn´t understand them. And like always he thinks he can still decide about the life of his 52 year-old daughter! After all I have done in my life, he should know better…
My Mother went on:
„What did you say you want to eat?“
„I didn´t even say I want to come!“
„Come, please… anyway I have a surprise for you!“
The magical word was spoken!
„Ok then… will you at least be for England?“
„Never again! They beat France last week!“

I arrived there about 8 p.m. I was welcomed with many hugs, especially from our lovely and tender dog Maya. The TV was on, and just as I entered the living room, an advert from Nike was running, featuring the French Rugby Men, accompanied by the words::
„Together we fell, together we´ll get up again!“
These French!

My mother gave me a small packet, wrapped in beautiful metallic purple gift paper. I guess purple lights went on in my eyes too! I opened the packet and found … this beautiful, unusual coffee cup inside.
„Now I don´t ever want to hear you moaning again!“
The fact is that I always take a milk coffee there and always moan that they don’t have a nice coffee cup for me.
Of course I was very pleased, but also I felt ashamed. Imagining my 82 year-old Mother going alone through the shopping hell of Benidorm – Anyone familiar with Benidorm will know exactly what I mean!- just to find a suitable coffee cup for her spoiled daughter, shamed me deeply.
But I guess this is what they call „Mother´s Love“.

Luckily my shame didn´t impede me enjoying my coffee in thís new wonderful cup, which I have baptised „Rug Mug“, a nickname for „Rugby World Cup“.
Unfortunately England lost, but at least my parents felt avenged.

By the way: my father asked me what the word on the cup means. Although it looks like Mwg, I guess it is meant to be „Mug“. To my deep shame, I have no idea where this word comes from, I just noticed that everybody nowadays calls this kind of coffee cup „Mug“. Can somebody tell me what „mug“ means?

October 21, 2007 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, drawing, family, food, life, Miki's Paintings, painting | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. A mug is a cup with no saucer which is usually bigger and squarer and clunkier than a tea cup. You can warm your hands around it. From what I’ve seen you drink from mugs. Also a mug shot is a different kind of mug, you know. It’s the picture police take of a person’s mug or face. That gives me another idea for my next Cafe Krem visit!

    Comment by Susan | October 21, 2007

  2. That’s an interesting dilema? How did the mug (cup) word become mug ( face, like in “ugly mug”…) ? english is a marvelous language – and full of surprises… (Doesn’t mean French doesn’t have its charmes…)

    Comment by iondanu | October 21, 2007

  3. Nice little watercolor, Miki! and I like the ingenious spoon “system”…

    Boy oh boy! I’m almost 52 myself (b. february 56) and my mother is exactly 82 (I miss her and my father a lot; next year I’ll visit them again…) and SHE is almost totally deft (to you, it’s your father but you see the coincidences, don’t you?)

    And I would have said, judging by the photo, you are about 35…

    Comment by iondanu | October 21, 2007

  4. Susan, Danu, you have no idea how much I enjoy it to sit with you around the coffee table!

    I had no idea that “mug” means “face” too! I kind of like this word, it sounds cosy and adventurous at the same time.
    I agree, Danu, English is marvellous, i love all these very short words which give a feeling of directness, dynamism, life!
    The mug my mother gave me had it own saucer, the one featured on the painting. So what are you telling me Susan, that in fact my mug is not a mug? God, don´t make me cry, I love my Rug Mug so much!
    And how should I explain my Dad what a mug is, if it´s written on it that it is a mug and it is not a mug? He will think:
    ” they are totally silly, these English people… and really deserved not to be rugby world champions!”

    Nice to hear about your parents, Danu. Visit them as soon as you can, it is so important!

    And thanks for the compliment! The photo was taken in July this year in the Perigord, and I have no idea how I managed to look so young there! (But of course this is the reason why I chose that photo as avatar…)

    Comment by cafecrem | October 21, 2007

  5. It’s beautiful Miki…starnge to see yourentry from a distance, like all our other guests…

    Comment by kevmoore | October 21, 2007

  6. Thanks, Kevin… compliments are always welcomed!
    Strange indeed.

    Comment by cafecrem | October 21, 2007

  7. Go out of your way to spend a bit of time with your parents – once they are gone you will regret each missed opportunity.

    Nothing like starting a day with happy thoughts, eh?

    Comment by wrjones | October 23, 2007

  8. You are so right, Bill, with the parents. I am very happy to still have them both, and we children care a lot for them, as they care for us.
    And look, I´m listening to you, I´m driving to them again, right now!
    Miki

    Comment by cafecrem | October 23, 2007

  9. Great job. Thanks your. 🙂

    Comment by Bartola | February 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

