Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Just my cup…in its usual environment

 ION VINCENT DANU, Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada

Since Miki wants to see my coffee cup, here it is! Freshly photographed this very morning, half empty (or shall I say half full?), among the tools of my trade… I would have prefered it among Golden pots but that’s too expensive…

As for slurping your way through a very hot coffee, I think the small plate method comes from Siberia and was apply to the hot, very hot, tea… Give the hot liquid more surface to cool and it will be suportably (?) hot… so, maybe, we should call the method the “siberian way”…

My cup

October 20, 2007 - Posted by | coffee, painting, photo | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I have to wonder, Danu, why the Siberians would need any other method to cool their coffee other than to put it outside for a few seconds, and let the weather there do the rest!
    The reflection in your cup puts me in mind of a telephone handset…..
    Let me also extend my welcome to you to our Coffee Cup Club!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 21, 2007

  2. Nice Photo, Danu, thanks to show me! A true view into a painter´s life!
    Kevin: I guess the Siberians prefer not to become cold themselves… this would automatically happen while putting their tea outside.
    Miki

    Comment by cafecrem | October 21, 2007

  3. Well, Kev and Miki, I think the idea behind the “Siberian” method (and here, in Québec, we got sometimes a “taste” of Siberia…) is not to cool your tea or coffee but to cool it JUST enough not to burn your lips… Just like me, I suppose, they like their elixir HOT but nut too hot…

    And thanks, the both of you!

    Comment by iondanu | October 21, 2007


Leave a Reply

