Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Blue Cup With Daisies

W.R. Jones


bluecupdaisiespf.JPG

We were at the local Vons grocery store when my wife mentioned we needed coffee. In the past I had watched her, somewhat inattentively it turns out, grind the moca java beans that we normally use. I told her to go get me some candy while I took care of the coffee.

What could be easier? I filled a bag with the beans and went round the end of the isle to the grinder. There I poured the beans from the bag into the grinder and set the bag on the shelf underneath. I switched on the grinder and turned away to browse other items on the aisle. Since the bag was only 3/4 full of beans I felt I did not need to watch the grinding as there was no way for the bag to overflow.

As a nearly world famous scientist I was of course correct about the overflow. However, overflow was not the problem, it was “around” flow that led to the neat pile of coffee grounds on the store floor. I had placed the bag near the spigot instead of under. You’ve heard the saying, “clean up on aisle 7.” The young man who came to clean up my mess was not amused by my ignorance; neither was my wife.

Later that day I found this blue cup at a yard sale and added it to this painting.

October 18, 2007 - Posted by | Cafe L'Arte, painting, WR Jones' Paintings

4 Comments »

  1. Welcome Bill, good painting, funny story!
    Happily MY coffee is already powdered as I buy it. Let me just say: Nescafe Gold (no, they don´t pay me for that…)
    I guess, if I was in the aisle, I would have laughed a lot, and I wonder if you did too…
    Cheers!!!!!

    Miki
    PS: have you been allowed to grind coffee since?

    Comment by cafecrem | October 18, 2007

  2. Nope

    Comment by wrjones | October 18, 2007

  3. Great Story Bill!
    “There but for the grace of god,” etc

    On a more sinister note….have you ever wondered if they sweep the inadvertently spilled grindings into bags and put them on sale???
    It might explain the odd floortile fragment I have occasionally chewed on.

    Comment by kevmoore | October 18, 2007

  4. Judging from the places you’ve been staying a bit of floortile, rat fur, etc. , is to be expected with the meals. Still, if the price is right, the flavor is usually acceptable.

    Comment by wrjones | October 18, 2007


Leave a Reply

