Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Strange Costumes: Chap. 4 — Nesting

I finally came up with an image I am happy with for the next chapter of the ongoing Strange Costumes collaboration with Kev Moore. I’ve been doing more coloring by hand this year, instead of Photoshop. My work is still pretty abstract. It’s been interesting to watch the direction my art goes in. Here is one of my new digital pieces, with an Italian title inspired by Kev and Miki’s current tour of this beautiful country:

In other news, around the same time I opened my gallery space this past February, I had an opportunity to start playing with the local symphony. It has been a blast, and I have to thank Kev for helping inspire my musical interests again. This is right after the concert last Thursday night. I was so happy that I didn’t mess up my solos!

Check out my blog if you’d like to see the concert program. Matthew thought all the songs sounded the same. Nicole liked “Defenders of our Freedom” the best. The Fauré piece was probably my favorite, but Stravinsky was a fun challenge, and Sevilla reminded me of the beautiful photos Miki and Kev post from Spain.

The weather is warming quickly here in Georgia. I’m going to head back outside to enjoy some sunshine.

May 11, 2011 - Posted by | Art, Ca' Puccini, Cafe L'Arte, Shelley's Altered Book, Shelley's Creations | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m incredibly happy that I’ve helped in some small way, to inspire you to take up playing again Shelley! Many, many congratulations on the concert! 🙂

    Like the new art piece , too. Reading the Chapter 4 lyrics, I heard the melody I’ve already recorded for it in my head. I’ll get back to finishing that over the summer.

    Comment by kevmoore | May 14, 2011


Leave a comment